Great Films about Middle Ages

IndieWire has compiled a group of lists, one of which is a best of list about middle ages.  Not the time period, it is regarding the time in people’s lives.  I am usually not one to read lists like these, as I am quick to disagree with them (though I believe myself to be quite fair) but I actually think this list has some truly great movies on it.

10. Georgia (1985)

9. Jackie Brown (1997)

8. Hannah and her Sisters (1987)

7. All That Heaven Allows (1955)

6. Groundhog Day (1993)

5. Savages (2007)

4. Alice Doesn’t Live Here Anymore (1974)

3. Close Encounters of the Third Kind (1977)

2. Amacord (1973)

1. Adaptation (2002)

Number one is in my top ten favorite movies of all time, and two of the greatest American directors in history are on this list.  Additionally, a Bill Murray film is always welcome in my book.  Movies like this are not the most popular right now.  Mainstream films most often attempt to reach the younger crowd, but these movies like to touch on subjects everyone may have to eventually face and are not often comfortable to talk about.  These films and others like it have some of the strongest emotional connections I have felt while watching movies; I’m only 21 years old, and I feel like it makes sense to me.  The power of cinema.

 

Leave a Reply

