The Gleaners and More Gleaners

This movie had no hope for me in the first two minutes.  Then the rap song came on and there was a slight chance.  Then it all went back to hell.

The Gleaners and I did nothing for me.  My nitpicks destroyed my viewing experience of it.  The fact that they wouldn’t stop saying the word “glean” upset me much more than it should, I admit.  And then the filmmaker herself…  I don’t know what point she was trying to make, or what kind of drugs she possibly was on.  “I like these trucks.  I’m going to grab these trucks.  All for me” …… Yeah, that’s great.

I will say that I was intrigued by the talks with the people living on the city streets.  The fellow who eats nothing but trash on pure principle was an interesting character.  It’s awful, but I commend him for his beliefs and commitment.  I was hoping the film in the beginning was going to focus more on how similar the worlds are from the fields to the streets, and honestly, maybe it did but I wasn’t engaged.  I tried, I really did, but this was the only movie we have watched all semester that did nothing for me.  At all.  I don’t like Michael Moore but I can get something out of his movies, even if I’m just laughing at him.

Leave a Reply

